:: Search Results

Interviews » Now You See Her: An Interview with Cathi Unsworth (published 23/11/2009)

cathiunsworthLadbroke Grove is an intriguing neighbourhood that constantly reinvents itself, which is what drew me to it in the first place and why I wouldn’t want to live anywhere else. It has been badly served by Richard Curtis’ blue door, after which the entire neighbourhood was suddenly called Notting Hill, a district that now seems to extend from Shepherd’s Bush roundabout up to Queensway and north into Queen’s Park. What I hope to present in Bad Penny Blues is a green door to the actual Grove instead.

By Garth Cartwright.

Interviews » Typical Girl: Cathi Unsworth Interviewed (published 08/07/2008)

un.jpgThe book does end on a hopeful note as I think there are some very young people out there utilising the very new technology that the Internet provides to really do their own version of punk, that by-passes the record company and the ad men, the marketing and the impotent music media. That was inspired by the Arctic Monkeys and what they did, by all those underage clubs that are springing up (and often run by the offspring of old punkers). I am heartened that it is out there as this really is a sick and scary time for young people to have to grow up in.

Andrew Stevens talks with novelist Cathi Unsworth about goth, noir and laddism.

Buzzwords » Unsworth on O’Neill (published 06/08/2007)

As mentioned elsewhere… Digging The Vein by Tony O’Neill (Wrecking Ball Press, £9.95) From Hull’s fearless Wrecking Ball Press comes a new author, who, despite his tender years, has rendered a noir to stand up there with labelmates Dan Fante and Charles Bukowski. This is Tony O’Neill’s memoir of his passage from rising indie music […]

Buzzwords » It Always Rains on Sunday (published 19/04/2015)

3:AM sort Cathi Unsworth has penned the intro for the next London Books Classics reissue, Arthur La Bern’s It Always Rains on Sunday. Beloved of Iain Sinclair, its cinematic treatment was the classic Ealing 1947 film by Robert Hamer, starring Googie Withers. Fans of Patrick Hamilton and Alexander Baron will no doubt find much to […]

» Le Weekend @ 3:AM (published 02/11/2013)

Friday I’m in Love A curated almost-weekly selection of favourite songs by 3:AM editors, writers and friends. April 8, 2011 – ‘We Are Lost’, Accent (Mick Habeshaw Robinson) August 28, 2010 – ‘Jungle Street’, The Scorpions (Andrew Stevens) June 25, 2010 – ‘I Can’t Let Go’, Evie Sands (Andrew Stevens) January 25, 2010 – ‘Bedsitter’, […]

Buzzwords » Dark Currents (published 03/10/2012)

Monday October 8th, 7.30pm at The Wheatsheaf, 25 Rathbone Place, North Soho (off Charlotte and Oxford streets) Since the days of the Regency, when prostitutes and pickpockets worked the promenades, and smugglers the coves and bays, the seaside has always had a seedy underbelly. And the English seaside can rightfully claim to be the birthplace […]

Buzzwords » Friday Film Focus: West 11 (published 07/09/2012)

By Cathi Unsworth. Laura Del-Rivo’s The Furnished Room came as a revelation to me, for many reasons. While I was researching my novel Bad Penny Blues, I was trying to track down a film called West 11, directed by Michael Winner and scripted by Keith Waterhouse and Willis Hall, that was set bang in the […]

Buzzwords » The Furnished Room (published 01/06/2012)

Laura Del Rivo in conversation with Cathi Unsworth A Sohemian Society event Monday June 18th The Wheatsheaf, 25 Rathbone Place, North Soho, W1, kick-off 7.30pm. Entrance fee £3. In Laura’s beatnik classic The Furnished Room the novel’s anti-hero Joe Beckett drifts from job to job and woman to woman in a seedy world of bedsitters […]

Buzzwords » That Was the Year That Was: Books (published 02/01/2012)

In 2011 we reviewed: Fiction: Andrej Blatnik’s You Do Understand Dawn Raffel’s Further Adventures in the Restless Universe Julian Barnes’ Pulse Michael Peverett’s The Littlest Feeling Brandon Tietz’s Out of Touch Charlie Caselton’s Meanwhile Gardens: An Urban Adventure Daniel Kramb’s Dark Times Dan Vyleta’s The Quiet Twin Carl Hiaasen’s Star Island Richard Kalich’s Penthouse F […]

Reviews » Going Underground (published 30/12/2011)

ttAll three authors were such youthful ‘outsiders’ wanting in. Colin Wilson came from Leicester, the drab industrial midlands; Laura Del-Rivo from Cheam in the stuffy stockbroker belt of Surrey. Only Terry Taylor is an actual Londoner, born in Kilburn – but, in the persona of his novel’s 16-year-old protagonist, he breaks down the sprawling metropolis to its crucial hepcat constituency. The spark that crackles through all three books is the yearning for change and difference, of finding a way of living in the centre of all happening without resorting to the drudge of work – by far the biggest fault line in this generation was the one that opened up between the baby-boomers and their parents.

Cathi Unsworth takes a trip with New London Editions’ ‘Beats, bums and bohemians’ reissue series of novels.