:: Buzzwords archive (

It Always Rains on Sunday published 19/04/2015

3:AM sort Cathi Unsworth has penned the intro for the next London Books Classics reissue, Arthur La Bern’s It Always Rains on Sunday. Beloved of Iain Sinclair, its cinematic treatment was the classic Ealing 1947 film by Robert Hamer, starring Googie Withers. Fans of Patrick Hamilton and Alexander Baron will no doubt find much to […]

» Read more...

Words without Borders seeks book reviewers published

3:AM editor K. Thomas Kahn has joined the phenomenal Words without Borders as Reviews Editor, in addition to continuing on in the same role here. Words without Borders is currently seeking a fresh batch of bright and eager reviewers to review world literature in English translation. See the call for submissions here for more information, […]

» Read more...

The Missing Links published 04/04/2015

The photography of Wim Wenders. * “The Dreadful Mucamas” by Lydia Davis. * Spiderman and fetish art. * An interview with Peter Markus: “Can fiction do that, make a world that is its own, a world that isn’t anchored down by the world in which it is actually written in? Of course it can“. * […]

» Read more...

Film Without Film published 28/03/2015

Post-Nearly Press are publishing two volumes of in-depth interviews with Chris Petit and Iain Sinclair, both conducted by Neil Jackson. Only a limited number of copies will be produced. “When they’re gone that’s it,” says Neil, “it’s a theme that crops up in the conversations.”

» Read more...

Tom McCarthy: ‘Think Tank’ published 19/03/2015

26 Mar 2015 at 7pm Studio, ICA, The Mall, London SW1 Coinciding with the publication of his new novel Satin Island, award-winning author Tom McCarthy is hosting a ‘Think Tank’. Here, director of the Weltkulturen Museum, Frankfurt, Dr. Clémentine Deliss, feted media consultant Alfie Spencer and leading critic and novelist Mark Blacklock will discuss the […]

» Read more...

The Dilly: A Secret History of Piccadilly Rent Boys published 14/03/2015

The Sohemian Society presents… Jeremy Reed at The Wheatsheaf, 25 Rathbone Place, North Soho, W1 Wednesday March 18th, 7.30pm The Dilly is the first comprehensive examination of male prostitution at London’s Piccadilly Circus from the nineteenth century to the present day. On the fringes of Soho, Piccadilly has long been London’s principal location for the […]

» Read more...

Satin Island published 17/02/2015

Tom McCarthy will be in conversation with Hans Ulrich Obrist at Foyles, Level 6, 107 Charing Cross Road on 10 March, 7-8pm. [Pic: Tom McCarthy in 2007 by Andrew Gallix.]

» Read more...

Fiction Call for Submissions published 30/01/2015

stein_thumb

Fiction submissions are open for a limited period…

» Read more...

The Missing Links published 26/01/2015

Cinema without people (via Gorse). * An interview with 3:AM legend Richard Cabut. * Brian Dillon on Gerhard Richter. * Brian Dillon on the topless cellist. * Sam Cooper on the novel after its abandonment. * Enrique Vila-Matas in The White Review‘s translation issue. * Translating the untranslatable. * Untranslatability studies. * Towards an alternative […]

» Read more...

infinite fictions: “a desire for the unorthodox” published 19/01/2015

Infinite Fictions, a collection of critical essays on literature and theory by 3:AM co-editor-in-chief David Winters, is available to buy now from Zero Books. From the back cover: David Winters has quickly become a leading voice in the new landscape of online literary criticism. His widely-published work maps the furthest frontiers of contemporary fiction and theory. […]

» Read more...